RSS Feed

the joy of moving your business in december

As if the holidays alone aren’t enough work!
Due to some unfortunate, (or perhaps fortunate, as it turns out) events,
I lost my lease right before the holidays. I had been working in the same
location for four and a half years, and the news came as a BIG shock.

So I did something that I thought I’d never do,
and brought my business home. Amazingly, it’s been a dream!

However, It’s been more work than I could ever possibly imagine,
and I’m only now starting to catch up with things.
I can tell you one thing I’ve learned from the experience: haste makes waste.
For sure.

I’d love to tell you that everything I make comes out perfect,
but as any soap-maker would tell you, that is impossible.
I’ve never found soap-making easy, but it’s enjoyable, and I’m persistent.
I would never sell anything that I wouldn’t use on myself or my own family.

Thanks to my gnawing desire to make time for creative endeavors
while trying to settle in, the first soap I made in my new and beautiful
home-studio was diagnosed with the most
dreaded-affliction-known-to-hand-made soap..lye-pockets.

What are lye-pockets, you ask? These crystal glazed, dangerous little pockets
in the finished soap, are filled with unsaponified lye water.
This can happen when the soap batter is not mixed well enough,
which is what happened in my case.
Mermaid Cold-ProcessIt’s not easy to see, but the little white areas are the culprits!
I threw the whole batch in a bowl, and sure enough, the next morning,
there was a small lye puddle at the bottom.

I added insult to injury by posting how I had just made my popular
‘Mermaid Soap’ on Facebook, and I had almost the
whole damn loaf sold within minutes.

It only took me a month, but a bad soap situation, even of this caliber,
can usually be safely rectified..by cooking the hell out of it!

I shredded the whole loaf, and incorporated a small portion of the shreds into a
fresh batch of oils, which is then cooked until neutral in a crock-pot.
Unlike cold-process, after the ‘cook’, this type of soap is ready to use immediately.
Hot-Process Mermaid Soap
I still have plenty of the original loaf left over to re-cook; not a bad thing.

The new hot-processed soap is more rustic looking than cold-process,
but still beautiful, mild, and bubbly! It’s in my shower now, and I’m loving it.

I’m happy with the new soap, and my new surroundings. Lesson learned.
I love happy endings..and new beginnings, too!

About Valerie DeVito

I'm a wife, mom of two teens, Licensed Massage Therapist & enthusiastic soap maker!

2 responses »

  1. Here’s to happy endings and new beginnings….best of luck in your new place. It’s beautiful!! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 432 other followers

